Adding a dummy section on PT

kky215

Adding a dummy section on PT

Postby kky215 » Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:46 pm

Hi all,
I am studying for the October 2012 LSAT.
I have already gone through powerscore LG and LR bibles, and I am currently doing every released LSAT PT's in chronological order under strictly timed conditions.
However, I was wondering if I should add a dummy section on each PT that I do. Is this really helpful? Any advice? Should I add real LSAT PT as a dummy section?
Please help.
Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

cc.celina

Re: Adding a dummy section on PT

Postby cc.celina » Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:49 pm

Yes. Use older PTs to pull sections from. Occasionally do 6 section tests because it's the only way you can build up concentration that lasts for 4 hours.

hereyago

Postby hereyago » Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:46 am

Some people do well even without the dummy section.

Put it in if you have time. It may be pretty helpful, but it is not necessary.

togepi

Postby togepi » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:50 am

It's a lot more important at this stage to just concentrate on individual sections making sure you understand all the concepts involved. I usually took 4 section tests and on a few occasions, two tests (8 sections) in one sitting with a 10 minute break at halftime.

After taking this past June test, working on endurance wasn't really worth it. The adrenaline I had on test day was enough to work through three full tests back to back.

Unless you have a really hard time staying focused throughout four, you might want to try adding a section. In my opinion it's much better to take it by section, going over mistakes thoroughly or taking a four section test with review. Both of those usually works out really well with a high focus on mistakes and why you're making them.

HTH

Nova

Postby Nova » Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:28 am

If you have a glaring weakness, use whatever section you suck the most at.

shntn

Postby shntn » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:19 am