Quick question on logic..(gap)

anticule

Quick question on logic..(gap)

Postby anticule » Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:19 pm

----
Last edited by anticule on Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

josemnz83

Re: Quick question on logic..(gap)

Postby josemnz83 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:08 am

The first thing I do is find the conclusion of the argument and see if it is supported by the evidence. If not, then look for the gap between evidence and conclusion. A quick strategy I have learned is to then negate the answer choices and see if the conclusion still holds. If negating the assumption no longer makes the conclusion true, then you probably have found your gap.

I hope this helps you. I'm still learning this myself.

Oscar85

Postby Oscar85 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:40 am

When it comes to justify the conclusion questions, I first read the stimulus and see if I can deduce it on my own. If not, then I use the mechanistic approach of PWS, where they instruct you to identify language that is present in the conclusion but not in the premises, or new language that is in the premises but not the conclusion.

Necessary assumption questions I look at the conclusion and the answer choice (usually you can see the gap on your own, just keep practicing) and try to find the AC that best fits (prephrasing works great here)... If there is more than one, that's when I employ the negation technique (negating the AC will weaken the argument, thereby making that answer choice necessary for the argument to work). Hope this helps... This is what I do, and I have seen marked improvement on the assumption questions.

TopHatToad

Postby TopHatToad » Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:01 pm