Those who finish logic games section with time to spare... Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
unitball

New

Those who finish logic games section with time to spare...

Post by unitball » Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:10 am

Do you do most of the games in your head or do you write out everything? I've been practicing games since november 2011 and I can still barely finish a section. I usually get to the middle of the fourth game and run out of time. I never have a hard time understanding the rules or making inferences at the start of the logic game, but it just seems like I can't make the mental connections quick enough to answer all the questions in 35 minutes.

My current method is to write out all the rules, and make inferences, do a quick example setup, then charge into answering the questions. I usually end up doing a ton of writing on the page. Im considering revamping my strategy from the ground up, seeing as how my speed hasnt changed over 7 months >_<

DaRascal

Gold

Re: Those who finish logic games section with time to spare...

Post by DaRascal » Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:24 am

I was having the same problem but when the June exam came I finished with 5 minutes to spare. When I got to the June LSAT I was diagramming like a beast. I mean I was writing and thinking A LOT faster than usual because of how determined I was.

I would say don't worry about it now and just go into BEAST MODE on test day. :P

Stupe

Bronze

Post by Stupe » Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:25 am

The only rules I usually write out are ones that can be written very easily in shorthand. So any rule that limits something chronologically, I'll write it out (ie. X -> Y as "X must always perform before Y). Some rules are long and convoluted though, and might even only apply to one or two questions, so I don't write those out. I just try to keep rules like "If X performs with Y, then Z must always perform with R" at the forefront of my mind.