Newbie here -- need some guidance to LSAT PREP!!

esther0123

Newbie here -- need some guidance to LSAT PREP!!

Postby esther0123 » Tue May 29, 2012 2:37 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a long-time lurker, and a second time poster here.
I was trying to get some advice on LSAT prep since people around me seem to have opinions that differ from TLS forum!

I'm taking October LSAT and I'm half way through LG Bible, just starting on LR Bible, and half way through RC Bible (though the last one, it seems to me that the forum's consensus is that it's not very helpful as the former two bibles).

I've been following Pithypike's plan, and it has been 2.5 weeks. I've done Basic Linear (balanced and unbalanced) drills (bible + older preptests), and I plan on going over them again after I'm done Advanced Linear drills. I'm also throwing in untimed RC sections from earlier preptests throughout the first month, trying to complete 10 (like Pithypike's plan) by the end of my first month of studying.

I study roughly 3-4hrs (M-F) and 6-8hrs (Sat-Sun), while holding a fulltime 9-5 job on weekdays.

I have taken a ice-cold diagnostics early May before my studying and got in the 140s (and I freaked out, then posted onto this board!). I have not taken a timed PT since then, but my friend suggests that I should work on timing. And timing is DEFINITELY a concern (though I assume the time-constraint is a killer for most people) so I'm not sure if working on accuracy while doing untimed practice is really effective.

I initially had the impression that I should work on accuracy, speed, then endurance (in that order throughout my prep), but now I'm confused. Should I be timing myself strictly when I'm practicing?