Learning to Drown Out Noise?

bdm261

Learning to Drown Out Noise?

Postby bdm261 » Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 pm

I'm one of those people who cannot concentrate on LSAT material unless I'm in extreme quiet. I know that I might not experience this during the actual LSAT, but right now I find it extremely difficult to read the intensely dense passages when there's a dog barking, or someone bumping their bass outside my window, etc.

The other day I was taking a full length in a private study room at my campus library and some group of students was in the adjacent room laughing, talking, and being really loud. I had to stop the timer and relocate because I was in the middle of an RC passage and the information just couldn't be absorbed in my brain due to their volume.

Any tricks to drown out outside noise or is it something you just have to get used to?

rinkrat19

Re: Learning to Drown Out Noise?

Postby rinkrat19 » Thu May 24, 2012 5:56 pm

I studied at the library (not even close to silent), at my dad's house with him talking to me, and with the TV on. It probably would have taken a bomb dropping on the building to bother me by test day.

MrAnon

Postby MrAnon » Thu May 24, 2012 6:07 pm

Get used to it. You'll be taking the test in a room full of people and less than optimal conditions.

MrPapagiorgio

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Thu May 24, 2012 6:15 pm

Unless you want to hear an orchestra of sniffling, avoid the December and February tests as much as you can.

princeR

Postby princeR » Thu May 24, 2012 6:50 pm