Do high scores depend on natural ability?

tomjennings

Do high scores depend on natural ability?

Postby tomjennings » Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:46 pm

Do people that score really high do so because they just have an innate understanding of the LSAT and "get it" automatically? I'm asking this because I've heard of so many people taking a diagnostic just for fun and missing only a few. Meanwhile, I have gotten so baffled by the test that I haven't even been able to finish a diagnostic. This could be because I am only a college freshman, but there are some people that take diagnostics around my age and seem to know how to do everything. I studied pretty intensely from about early October to late November last year, but then I got frustrated and stopped. I expect some of you to say that I shouldn't be worried about the LSAT right now and focus more on my schoolwork, but I still got A's in all my classes last semester despite prepping for the LSAT all that time. I know I can get the grades needed to compete for a spot at the top law schools. My main worry is the LSAT since I have never been good at standardized tests. Now I want to get back into studying for the LSAT, but I fear that it requires more than just intense prep. to reach my target score of 175. Is the LSAT really learnable?

Also, if you want, you can give me a little advice on how to study. I am a self-directed learner. I don't learn well socially. I would prefer to pick up all the best books and stare at them for hours rather than have someone teach me. I have at least three years to figure out this monster. Any advice?
Last edited by tomjennings on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PARTY

Re: Do high scores depend on natural ability?

Postby PARTY » Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:48 pm