Should I take the LSAT for a THIRD time?

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
shifty_eyed

Gold

Should I take the LSAT for a THIRD time?

Postby shifty_eyed » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:28 am

I took the LSAT in September 2009 and October 2010 and got 170 both times. I studied by taking old practice tests. The first time, I had been scoring 165-173 on practice tests and was pleasantly surprised by my score. The second time, I had been scoring 172-179 (consistently over 173 by the end of my studying), but had a bad testing experience and debated canceling (now wish I had!). I am open to retaking, but feel a third score would probably look bad unless I improved significantly, which realistically will be hard to do.

Until a recent promotion, my job was so stressful that I couldn't even think about studying and retaking the LSAT. Now, I have much more downtime, and could even study a bit at work (stealthily).

My GPA is 3.28. I have no compelling explanation for this, but I did get a dual degree (BS/BA) in two very different majors.

I think my best bet is applying EARLY next cycle with a polished PS and application. Therefore, I think I would need to take the June LSAT?

SO to sum up, should I retake the LSAT again? Is two months enough time to study, especially considering I haven't looked at one in a year and a half?

T00L

Silver

Re: Should I take the LSAT for a THIRD time?

Postby T00L » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:37 am

The answer is ALWAYS yes if you think you can do better/ will always live is a state of "what if?"

Two 170s are pretty solid. The worst thing that can happen is you feel like you screwed up on the day and then cancel.

I personally know someone who had the same score twice before jumping 11pts on the third try. That person's admission cycle is going almost as if the first two never happened.*