Just Decided to Take the LSAT>>>HELP!!!!!!!!

zimmejs

Just Decided to Take the LSAT>>>HELP!!!!!!!!

Postby zimmejs » Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:58 am

Here's the deal. I graduated undergrad 4 years ago and have been working full time as an engineer for a construction company. I have been thinking about the possibility of going to law school for a few years and have finally decided that it is something I am definitely going to pursue.

Ideally I would start school in Fall 2013. I am definitely going to take the October 2012 LSAT, but am debating on whether or not I should take June also. I just bought my first prep book (Kaplan Logic Strategies & Tactics) this week and have only begun looking at it. I plan to study about 2 hours a night up until the test (weekdays) and more on weekends. I'm concerned I'm not giving myself adequate time to prepare for the June test and am wondering if I would be better off taking October & December 2012?

From the schools I have looked at, I'd like to get around a 165 to feel comfortable. My undergrad GPA was 3.45, and have always been a focused studier.

What should I definitely do/don't do?
Any other advice?

Jeffort

Re: Just Decided to Take the LSAT>>>HELP!!!!!!!!

Postby Jeffort » Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:18 am

Return the book you bought and get better LSAT prep books if you are going to do self study. There are other brands that publish much better and more comprehensive LSAT self study guides.

Do not PLAN on taking it twice, that is just setting your mindset up for failure. You can take it a second or third time if you don't perform as well as you are capable of if your previous results are not as good as you expected. You should aim to perform to the best of your abilities the first time. Your attitude/confidence is an important aspect that influences how you perform on test day.

Planning to take it twice indicates a lack of confidence that you will be adequately prepared the first time.