PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

User avatar
TIKITEMBO
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:07 pm

PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby TIKITEMBO » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:18 pm

Alright, I've got a question with interpreting two rules together for the third game on PT 61.

3. ~U-->R2 (contra: ~R2-->U)

4. R2-->~U (contra: U-->~R2)

How do these work together?

Thanks!

User avatar
chewdak
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby chewdak » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:33 pm

TIKITEMBO wrote:Alright, I've got a question with interpreting two rules together for the third game on PT 61.

3. ~U-->R2 (contra: ~R2-->U)

4. R2-->~U (contra: U-->~R2)

How do these work together?

Thanks!


What you have is correct.
You could chain them but that would just look confusing to me.
What is your concern about how they would work together?

User avatar
lovejopd
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby lovejopd » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:46 pm

TIKITEMBO wrote:Alright, I've got a question with interpreting two rules together for the third game on PT 61.

3. ~U-->R2 (contra: ~R2-->U)

4. R2-->~U (contra: U-->~R2)

How do these work together?

Thanks!

You can use a double arrow if you want. It functions as a block but it does not have to appear.

You can think of only 2 cases
1. Both ~U & R2
2. Neither of them(U & ~R2)

Correct me if I am dead wrong~

User avatar
TIKITEMBO
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby TIKITEMBO » Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:14 pm

lovejopd wrote:
TIKITEMBO wrote:Alright, I've got a question with interpreting two rules together for the third game on PT 61.

3. ~U-->R2 (contra: ~R2-->U)

4. R2-->~U (contra: U-->~R2)

How do these work together?

Thanks!

You can use a double arrow if you want. It functions as a block but it does not have to appear.

You can think of only 2 cases
1. Both ~U & R2
2. Neither of them(U & ~R2)

Correct me if I am dead wrong~


Any other thoughts on this? I'm not sure if I'm quit getting it yet...

Thanks for the responses.

User avatar
chewdak
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby chewdak » Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:15 pm

TIKITEMBO wrote:Any other thoughts on this? I'm not sure if I'm quit getting it yet...

Thanks for the responses.


I don't know if there is anything to 'get'.
Do you understand these rules?

The game revolves around the fact that 4 out 5 individuals will participate, other rules introduce some additional
constraints regarding order and who is in and who is out.

User avatar
TIKITEMBO
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby TIKITEMBO » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:04 pm

chewdak wrote:
TIKITEMBO wrote:Any other thoughts on this? I'm not sure if I'm quit getting it yet...

Thanks for the responses.


I don't know if there is anything to 'get'.
Do you understand these rules?

The game revolves around the fact that 4 out 5 individuals will participate, other rules introduce some additional
constraints regarding order and who is in and who is out.



I understand these rules, but I'm trying to figure out how the work together. Or, if they do at all.

User avatar
TIKITEMBO
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby TIKITEMBO » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:18 pm

Seriously, if anyone knows how to do this. I am terrified this will be on the test tomorrow and ruin a game.

User avatar
lovejopd
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby lovejopd » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:26 pm

TIKITEMBO wrote:
chewdak wrote:
TIKITEMBO wrote:Any other thoughts on this? I'm not sure if I'm quit getting it yet...

Thanks for the responses.


I don't know if there is anything to 'get'.
Do you understand these rules?

The game revolves around the fact that 4 out 5 individuals will participate, other rules introduce some additional
constraints regarding order and who is in and who is out.



I understand these rules, but I'm trying to figure out how the work together. Or, if they do at all.


Do you remember the phrase "A if and only if B" in LR? It is the same logic used in Game.
A <--> B
: A --> B (A only if B)
+
B --> A (A if B)

See what I am saying?
Only two scenarios can occur I said before
1) A and B (It does not matter A appear or B appear first)
or
2) Nothing

Do not worry too much about it and calm down. You will be okay.
P.S. Don't forget: Reverse Splitter Unite! Hope you get the score you want tomorrow~and have a nice sleep today :)

User avatar
TIKITEMBO
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: PT 61 LG Rule Interpretation

Postby TIKITEMBO » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:41 pm

Aw thanks. I appreciate it. And yes, Reverse Splitters unite! I actually just re-did the game and felt a lot better about it. It is how you put it, but I think you can look at it kind of piece-meal too (checking each rule). It works better your way though. Thanks for the help and if you're taking it tomorrow, good luck!




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: azaleafire and 3 guests