A somewhat unique Retake in February? question

divtheshin

A somewhat unique Retake in February? question

Postby divtheshin » Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:25 pm

I took an official LSAT for the first time this December and was pretty unhappy with my score. I studied fairly hard, with a Kaplan course, for roughly 2-3 months before the test. I know I can score higher based on my practice tests. I have already sent in applications to 10 law schools. I submitted my applications (perhaps stupidly) before I received my official LSAT score. I thought that submitting the PS and application as early as possible would be to my advantage. I did not know that my application would not even be looked at until the full CAS report was sent....Also I was not anticipating that gruelingly long score release for the December test.

ANYWAY, my question is this - If I retake the test in February, is there a chance that the schools I have already applied to will see my new score once it is released in March? Should I try to contact the schools and let them know that another score will be on its way in March? If I do better on the test in Feb, and do not get into any law schools this year, I will still be applying for the next cycle. However, if I am going to shoot for the 2013 cycle, I might as well take the test in June or Oct which leaves much more studying time than just one month until this Feb. So I am weighing the options - retake test in Feb with the possibility of schools I have already applied to seeing my improved score....OR...wait until June or Oct and study more and apply 2013. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I should add that I have a great gpa and am only trying to raise my lsat score a couple points. I am shooting for schools ranked in the 50-100 range.