Accommodated Testing Denied: Advice Needed

swimmer10000

Accommodated Testing Denied: Advice Needed

Postby swimmer10000 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:04 pm

Hello,

I am a retired Veteran on permanent disability due to a stress injury caused by a Tour of Duty in Afghanistan and Special Forces training seven years ago.
My injuries are psychological but not easily categorized. Panic/Anxiety Disorder,PTSD, Bipolar, ADHD have all been applied to my situation. In the end my difficulties are in the executive functioning arena: working memory, reading speed, concentration etc. and anxiety and none of the above labels accurately define my difficulties.

I have undergone LSAC's requirements of the battery of psychological/IQ testing and the psychologist recommended 50% additional time along with a quiet work environment and breaks between each section.

I have already been given accommodation at my school but this is a recent development as I have only recently restarted my education.
I have attained a 4.0 GPA and LSAT scores under standard conditions are 148 and 153 respectively.

The results of the testing LSAC requested mirror testing done three years ago by a neuropsychologist to rule out any organic brain injury: while intelligent I have difficulty with executive functioning. I scored in the 91st percentile in scholastically related intelligence and in the 9th percentile for working memory. Also, the testing among other things showed that I had a 53% chance of not having ADHD.

With hard work and now accommodation I have been able to overcome these difficulties to achieve the 4.0 GPA.

LSAC's position: "LSAC has an obligation to determine if your
disorder limits a major life activity involved in taking the LSAT. If it does, then we must also determine
whether the accommodations requested are warranted." and "We are not able to grant your request since the documentation provided does not demonstrate that you