LSAT questions from a first year student

CincinnatusND

LSAT questions from a first year student

Postby CincinnatusND » Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:25 pm

Hey everyone,

I'm a freshman at the University of Cincinnati. I'm looking to make it into a t14 law school in three years and was looking for some advice on deciding when to take the LSAT.

I have been thinking a lot about my future lately so I decided to just try an old LSAT, the one the LSAC provides for free on their website from June '07, time myself, and see how highly I could score with no preparation. I did this at 10:30 pm after a long day, knowing nothing about the LSAT going in. I scored a 169. I'm fairly anxious to see how highly I could score with prep work and I feel as if I could do quite a bit better even with minimal prep.

This is where my question comes in: Is there any real reason to wait until I'm a junior or senior student to wait to formally prep for, and then take, the LSAT? I would be happier beginning my preparation this spring and taking the test sometime in my sophomore year. Would law schools view a score from so early in my college career unfavorably? I would like to take it early, simply to get it out of the way and know definitively what kind of LSAT score I will be applying to law school with. I will also be more heavily involved in my later years of college and feel as if extensive prep work would be easier to manage in the near future.

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Scotusnerd

Re: LSAT questions from a first year student

Postby Scotusnerd » Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:38 pm

Good lord we're growin' them early! At least you're proactive! :twisted:

LSAT scores are valid for five years, so it's possible for you to do this. The question is whether you should or not.