Suggested science reading?

anela00

Suggested science reading?

Postby anela00 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:20 pm

I generally can get -0/-1 on reading comprehension, but when there's a hard science article, my error rate usually rises to -3/-4. I know TLSers generally recommend reading The Economist to get used to reading dense material, but what would you recommend to get used to reading hard science articles? Is there a specific magazine or anything? Anything that can be easily obtained? I graduated from college a number of years ago and can't access academic journals anymore.

Thanks in advance!

charliep

Re: Suggested science reading?

Postby charliep » Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:34 pm

anela00 wrote:I generally can get -0/-1 on reading comprehension, but when there's a hard science article, my error rate usually rises to -3/-4. I know TLSers generally recommend reading The Economist to get used to reading dense material, but what would you recommend to get used to reading hard science articles? Is there a specific magazine or anything? Anything that can be easily obtained? I graduated from college a number of years ago and can't access academic journals anymore.

Thanks in advance!

I used "in search of schrodinger's cat." it was incredibly informative and really well written, you know, for a science book

SchopenhauerFTW

Postby SchopenhauerFTW » Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:54 pm

Hooray for Schrödinger!

CorkBoard

Postby CorkBoard » Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:04 pm

SchopenhauerFTW wrote:Hooray for Schrödinger!

Off topic, but your avatar is amazing.

anela00

Postby anela00 » Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:44 pm

Thanks! I'll definitely check that out. Any other suggestions?

grossindiscretion

Postby grossindiscretion » Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:11 pm

Shuffling through Amazon, I can see a couple of science books, each of which I highly recommend, for pretty cheap. Not sure what you are looking for in terms of reading level though.