Help! Drastically Underperforming on Test Day

tmon

Help! Drastically Underperforming on Test Day

Postby tmon » Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:40 pm

I'm looking for suggestions on how to avoid a large score drop on test day. See the bottom of the post if you want the short version :)

I've been prepping for this test for many months at this point and feel pretty comfortable with the material. I'm not perfect, but I've PTed in the 170s many times on unused, strictly-timed, and modern tests. My average was around 171 going into the October test and I predicted a score maybe a couple points below that average unless the curve was particularly generous.

It turns out I scored a full 10 points below my average, and incorrectly answered well over double my average. Some of the problem was LG, where I missed 5 and often got perfect or close to it. That's a content issue I think, and I'm going to work on drilling. However, I also missed 5 on each LR section and a whopping 11 on RC. Leading up to the test I was averaging around -2 or 3 on LR, and around -3 or 4 on RC. Basically, I doubled or worse all of my average mistakes on those three sections.