PT#59, Logic Games (Section 1), Question 10

rcatmullnv
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:43 am

PT#59, Logic Games (Section 1), Question 10

Postby rcatmullnv » Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:43 pm

10. Which one of the following, if substituted for the condition that Hibiscus must be hung somewhere before Katydid but cannot be the first photograph, would have the same effect in determining the arrangement of the photographs?

I chose B) Gardenias is somewhere after Hibiscus, and either Fence or Magnolia is first. In the rules, Gardenias must be immediately before Katydid (GK). Thus, G after H results in H>GK (good substitute for the H>K rule that the stimulus eliminated. Additionally, it rules out H from being first, because either F/M must be first per the new rule.

I understand why the correct answer works (D. Unless Hibiscus is second, it must be somewhere between Magnolia and Gardenias), but I can't understand why B) doesn't a restriction that would have the same effect.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Cambridge LSAT
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: PT#59, Logic Games (Section 1), Question 10

Postby Cambridge LSAT » Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:58 pm

Choice B goes too far. Under the original rules, it need not be true that F or M is first. See question 8, choice D for an example of this.

rcatmullnv
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:43 am

Re: PT#59, Logic Games (Section 1), Question 10

Postby rcatmullnv » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:56 am

Of course. It's so obvious now... woops. :oops:




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sethnoorzad and 13 guests