Yale Undergrad and I can't score outside the 150s?! Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
californialiving

New

Yale Undergrad and I can't score outside the 150s?!

Post by californialiving » Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:44 pm

Hi,
I'm an undergrad at Yale and am having a very hard time doing well on the LSAT. I got a 154 on my diagnostic, and after a 3 month course, half a dozen additional prepbooks and many hours of review I am scoring a ... 154. I am frustrated and am reconsidering a career in law.

I expected to do better on the LSAT as I am a good test taker and scored in the high 2200s on the SAT after a month of study.The Office of Career Services at my school says there are only 10 schools worth going to, and that it is a waste of money to go to any others (unless you are the very top of your class.) I am having particular trouble with LR, am OK at LG, and am good at RC. The Logic Games Bible has helped me significantly, and I have been able to increase my LG score (to -6 ish), and I continue to improve. However, my LR score has only gotten WORSE as I continue to study (from -6 initially to -9 or -10). I usually score -2 or -4 on RC. Timing is never an issue for me on any section.

In short, I am signed up for the Oct test and desperately need an LSAT miracle. Any advice? Especially for how to improve (rapidly) on LR?

minnbills

Gold

Re: Yale Undergrad and I can't score outside the 150s?!

Post by minnbills » Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:48 pm

californialiving wrote: The Office of Career Services at my school says there are only 10 schools worth going to
They actually said that?

futurelawstudent1

New

Post by futurelawstudent1 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:02 pm

Most athletes and black students at Ivy league schools probably can't score above 160, so if you belong to one of those groups, you shouldn't be surprised.

crazyblink653

Bronze

Post by crazyblink653 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:05 pm