Logic Games- interesting, frustrating problem. Advice? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
NightmanCometh

New

Logic Games- interesting, frustrating problem. Advice?

Post by NightmanCometh » Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:39 pm

Hi all,

I am taking the October test and I am studying like crazy. My problem, however is the games...Always run out of time and end up not being able to get to many of the questions in the last game. (Accuracy not really an issue)

Here is the interesting part though, whenever I review or attempt any individual game (even ones I haven't seen), I can comfortably solve it under 10 minutes (under 8 minutes for "easier" ones). Put four of them in one section, however, and my performance/speed falters somewhere between games.

So basically, I don't think my technique or familiarity with the games is the main issue here (although I am still working hard to improve it, drilling constantly). I've done the LG bible as well as drilled and repeated countless games (including the Cambridge "Most Difficult Games"). So for most games, I know how to diagram, get the inferences, and solve it relatively quickly. It's gotten to a point that even new weird games I can solve, because I am comfortable with the general process. I recently did the snakes one for the first time and finished it with no problem.

The main problem is speed and maintaining focus between games in sections. I seem to be so focused in the "world" of the game I am working on that I have a hard time maintaining that focus for a completely new setup. So what happens is, I can knock out the first one fast, then lose speed/focus on the second, then lose even more speed/focus on the third, and by the fourth its game over.