about reading comprehension

briefcandle

about reading comprehension

Postby briefcandle » Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:54 pm

hi, everyone.

I have been working on lsat for 2 months, and everything went pretty well. I can do most of them within the time frame, and insist a correctness rate of about 20/24 for each section.

However, i find troubles for the reading comprehension. I can finish them, but I don't understand what I was reading. It may sound weird, but that's what it is. I use the technique of reading passage for 4 minutes and later solving problems. But actually, I need more than 5 minutes to grasp the whole structure of it. Therefore, with the short of time, I make guessing for questions. It turns out to be pretty good guess, but I don't feel as sure as other sections.

Can anyone tell me whether it is normal or not?

p.s. English is not my native language, which may explain?

Thank you for your time

rinkrat19

Re: about reading comprehension

Postby rinkrat19 » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:45 pm

From your writing, it is obvious that you aren't a native English-speaker. That probably explains your problems with RC. You certainly write in English far better than I can in any other language, but you need near-native fluency to catch the nuances that RC questions are asking about and your writing implies that you're still somewhat short of that.

I would recommend taking a year off and polishing your English reading and writing skills with a few more classes and a LOT of reading. Law school itself will require a level of fluency similar to what the LSAT requires.

aliceydu

Postby aliceydu » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:23 pm