Getting Motivated... Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
jared6180

Bronze

Getting Motivated...

Post by jared6180 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:53 am

I need help getting motivated to study for the LSAT, I have this Kaplan book sitting here, and I can't seem to crack it open. I am looking into buying a couple other books, and nothing. Just bought "Getting To Maybe", and I can't "Get to Starting"LOL! Any advise? Any help? What do you think about to drive forward? I have been learning small things about the practice of Law for about 12 months now, and can't wait to get in there and get started...but this test before hand feels crazy!

Jared

rinkrat19

Diamond

Re: Getting Motivated...

Post by rinkrat19 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:56 am

The LSAT is the single biggest factor in whether you'll get into a school that will give you decent odds of finding a job after graduation.

If that's not enough motivation, you should probably rethink your law school plan.

WhoIsDonDraper

New

Post by WhoIsDonDraper » Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:01 am

There are multiple progressions you will go through, each of which is scarier than the next. I think the fear of God coupled with a positive desire to go to law school is the most effective. Reading TLS forums is also a great supplement to speed up the process.

1. First you will realize Kaplan is the wrong testing company to use. This will scare you only a marginal amount but cause you to spend more money for the right prep.
2. Then you will realize that even though you have worked through the powerscore bibles, you are nowhere near close enough to getting games done or LR done under time. This will scare you significantly more.
3. If you have at all read forums on employment prospects and application cycles and you have realized that your "President of the coolest Frat on campus" does not count as a good soft factor, then you will start aiming much higher on the LSAT.