Should I retake the LSAT?

Lady in Red

Should I retake the LSAT?

Postby Lady in Red » Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:28 am

I was disappointed by my June LSAT score of 167 because I had scored in the 170's on five of my thirteen practice tests, including three of the last five.

Here are my practice test scores, from first to last:
166, 165, 167, 166, 172, 166, 170, 163, 175, 171, 172, 169, 167

However, I recently learned that newer tests are harder and that people who practiced with older tests (like I did) are usually disappointed with their scores. Also, admittedly, when I look at my scores, a 170+ was far from guaranteed.

I studied very hard for about two months before my LSAT. When I took the first practice test (the free one from LSAC) and got a 166, I figured that two months of studying would get me into the 170+ range. I read the LG Bible cover to cover and did all the exercises before taking another test. I was shocked to have dropped a point. But I steadily made progress…

I left the June test feeling that I had done my best. I know that this makes me a dubious candidate for retesting.

With a 167 and a 3.73, I have a decent shot at Cornell and UCLA, which are great schools. I'm planning to apply to Penn and Michigan, which are a little farther out of my reach, but I'm honestly not sure that either of those schools is necessarily all that much better for me than Cornell and UCLA. (I'll be applying to safeties, too, of course.)

Based on the law school probability calculator website I've been obsessing over, Berkeley, Stanford, and Yale are basically impossible with my GPA.

So really, the hopes that were dashed with my 167 are NYU, Columbia, and Harvard. (I really started dreaming on the day I got that 175!) Since all three of these schools take the average, rather than the highest LSAT score, I would have to improve tremendously to have a shot at these schools.