First ~30 PrepTests vs. Newer Tests

DWinter18

First ~30 PrepTests vs. Newer Tests

Postby DWinter18 » Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:11 pm

Hey all,

I thought I remembered reading that there are some noticeable differences and trends in the newer tests vs. the older PrepTests. I ask because I'm studying hardcore for the October Test, and I've been using mostly older tests (the ones found in the 3 "Official 10 LSATs" books). These tests do not have any comparative reading comp. sections, so that is one big difference. I also think Reading Comp. overall on these tests is, for the most part, extremely easy. Games aren't too bad at all. My only troublesome area is LR but I've been drilling that extremely hard and I've seen a lot of improvement.

I plan on buying a bunch of the most recent tests so I can use those for full PT when it gets to August and September, but I was just wondering if there are any noticeable differences. Thanks in advance!

soj

Re: First ~30 PrepTests vs. Newer Tests

Postby soj » Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:18 pm

Comp reading is the big change. LG has fluctuated in difficulty, but in general, test writers seem to be sticking with the main game types (no weird ones like in PT1-20), though they're more willing now to make hybrid ones that have elements of different game types. There's also a new LG question type that is very recent; you'll encounter it in PT 57 or later and immediately know what I mean.

ShulmanSR

Postby ShulmanSR » Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:42 pm

soj wrote:Comp reading is the big change. LG has fluctuated in difficulty, but in general, test writers seem to be sticking with the main game types (no weird ones like in PT1-20), though they're more willing now to make hybrid ones that have elements of different game types. There's also a new LG question type that is very recent; you'll encounter it in PT 57 or later and immediately know what I mean.

Which type of game is this?

Sloth Hero

Postby Sloth Hero » Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:52 pm