When is it too early to think you're not ready?

notaznguy

When is it too early to think you're not ready?

Postby notaznguy » Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:27 am

My original plan was to take the October 1st test and apply for law school this upcoming year so I can start law school as soon as I graduated from undergrad. I ended school in around mid-late June and started studying for the LSAT.

Prior to the past month of studying, I had no idea how to methodically solve LSAT problems (i.e. I didn't know what a contrapositive, or anti-block or deduction was). I started and went over most of the LR Bible from June 22 - July 11. Then my Testmasters course started on July 11 and I just finished attending the 3rd class this past Wednesday.

On my 1st diagnostic, I scored a 142, with LG being my weakest section (did 1 game and literally guessed on everything else). I want to get at LEAST a 163 by October.

I know I still have all of August and September to prepare, but I'm constantly feeling despaired and hopeless. I just completed a bunch of "drills" UNTIMED and I am certainly not getting 90-100% of them correct. From doing 40 conditional reasoning Must Be True questions, I got 28 correct. When I did 100 Must Be True questions, I got 70 correct. When I did about 8 reading comp articles, my scores were erratic. Sometimes I'd get 4/5, 4/6, and sometimes I'd get something like 2/7, though I averaged something like 4/7. Lastly, on LG games, if I did them slow as hell, I'd get them all (or -1) correct.

Note that doing all these drills were UNTIMED. When I did attempt to time myself by doing a game, LR question, or reading comp, my accuracy drastically decreased due to the pressure and strains of time. For instance, when I tried to do a LG in 9 minutes, I totally freaked out and got ALL of them wrong *facepalm*