Reading comp study methods

wishyfishy

Reading comp study methods

Postby wishyfishy » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:07 am

Does anyone have any good tips for improving on the RC section? I've heard/read a lot of different advice, from reading the Economist to annotating to reading the questions first but it all just seems like such a hit or miss. I've been doing pretty consistently on the rest of the test with an average of 1 or 2 wrong each section. But RC is the huge unknown for me. My second ptest I had a perfect on RC. But after a month of studying, I just took a test and ended up with 5 unanswered at the end which I guessed on. But I've also experienced finishing RC with 7 minutes to spare. There is absolutely no consistency in how I do in terms of time or accuracy.

Also, I think my reading comprehension level is generally pretty high. I'm an anthropology student, so I read a lot of Levi-Strauss and Hegel and Foucault. I've never had difficulty reading quickly and grasping the material. So I'm looking for suggestions other than "reading the Washington Post."

caminante

Re: Reading comp study methods

Postby caminante » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:15 am

Sounds like you already have a pretty good grasp on this. I think the only thing to do it practice, practice, practice.

Also, anytime you read anything try to answer certain questions in your head: What is the main point? What are the various arguments? What is the tone? What is the general structure? What different viewpoints are included?

If you get in the habit of noticing these things while reading, you won't have to go back to the passage as much when answering the questions.

RC Bible calls this the VIEW STAMP method-

view- viewpoints
s- Structure
t- tone
a- arguments/ attitude?
mp- main point

wishyfishy

Postby wishyfishy » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:23 am

caminante wrote:Sounds like you already have a pretty good grasp on this. I think the only thing to do it practice, practice, practice.