How long did it take you to "master" LR?

notaznguy

How long did it take you to "master" LR?

Postby notaznguy » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:09 pm

I'm on Chapter 8 of the LR Bible and just finished the weakening questions chapter. When I did the question set at the end, I got 3 right and 3 wrong =( I know I'm still learning, but it's nevertheless discouraging to still get 50%.

Aside from just rereading the chapter and redoing the question sets and trying to understand what I did right and wrong, is there anything else I can do? I'm going to be doing more practice problems, but I'm going to wait until my prep course starts (Testmaster) so they can give me the materials.

glucose101

Re: How long did it take you to "master" LR?

Postby glucose101 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:24 pm

I think the thing that helped me the most is drilling question types from the Orange book. It isn't like I'm getting 100% yet, but you start to notice patterns in the answers and the explanations. Vague anecdotal evidence, I know. But in doing all question types, you start to realize that certain words will in/validate answers for certain questions.

minnbills

Postby minnbills » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:50 pm

I never really mastered it. You drill and drill and drill until your average section score is in a solid range, though I would still get the occasional whiff. That's how I did it at least.

gaud

Postby gaud » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:09 pm

minnbills wrote:I never really mastered it. You drill and drill and drill until your average section score is in a solid range, though I would still get the occasional whiff. That's how I did it at least.

+1, you cannot expect to be a pro right after finishing a chapter (not saying you feel that way at all though). It just takes lots and lots of practice. I remember when i thought -6 per LR was pretty good; then after a drills and reviews all the time I got down into the -2 range

Shammis

Postby Shammis » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:26 pm