Help! Contemplating cancelling score for 6/26 overseas LSAT

kilgoretrout66

Help! Contemplating cancelling score for 6/26 overseas LSAT

Postby kilgoretrout66 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:08 am

I`d appreciate any thoughts you guys have to spare on my situation:

Took the LSAT yesterday in Tokyo, which is several hundred miles away from where I work as an English teacher in rural Japan. Unfortunately, the night before the test, a combination of lingering pneumonia (occupational hazard - I catch what my classes catch) and old-fashioned nerves meant that I didn`t sleep for more the 1.5 hours the night before the test. I considered not showing up for the test, thought better of it, chugged some coffee and took it anyways, and feel like it went surprisingly well - had answers for every question, didn`t feel too rushed, etc. etc.

I want to have a shot at Boalt Hall or HYS. I`d been pretty consistent on my practice tests, usually scoring between 175 and 178 as the test day got closer, but I`m worried that in my sleep-deprived, caffeine-addled state, I may have gotten way lower than that without realizing it. My GPA from a top liberal arts college is within the medians for Boalt and HYS, but not above them. I haven`t published any novels or won any gold medals, so I feel like a solid score is necessary for me to be competitive at these places. My question is this: Should I cancel my score and retake the test in October when I (hopefully) don`t have mycoplasmic pnuemonia, or take a chance with yesterday`s score (with the option of retaking if it turns out to be terrible)? Boalt Hall is kind to people who take the test twice and only considers the higher score, but a sub-par showing could really hurt my chances at HYS even if I do well on the retake. I`m currently leaning towards keeping the score, but I`d appreciate any advice. Thanks!

LSATPREPPER

Re: Help! Contemplating cancelling score for 6/26 overseas LSAT

Postby LSATPREPPER » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:15 am