Strategy for October with regards to timing

DC_Patent_Law

Strategy for October with regards to timing

Postby DC_Patent_Law » Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:55 pm

Hey guys,

I’ve been studying for the LSAT for the last 5 months or so and have managed to drag my score up from 142 to 156. I took testmasters which helped me to get all the concepts down and raise my score. I’m taking the October LSAT and really want to score a 170+. My sticking point is I can’t complete the damn test. I miss around 5 questions on each LR section, 1 logic game and 1 RC passage on each practice test I’ve taken so far. I’ve sped up a lot over the last 5 months but still can't complete the test on time. My accuracy is hovering around 90% across LG, RC and LR so I guess I can afford to speed up at this stage. What should I do to speed up without sacrificing my accuracy?
I’m thinking:
a). Do timed sections for LG and LR and try to work on reducing the time it take till I can get to all the questions; and/or
b). Do preptests 30-63 (2 per week) and hope that I can get through all the sections by the time October rolls around.

Any ideas, comments or suggestions? Thanks.

- DCPL

zozin

Re: Strategy for October with regards to timing

Postby zozin » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:02 pm

What's your pace on LR? If you have the concepts down and are a decent reader, you should be able to finish the first 10 in 10-12 minutes. The first 10-15 questions on LR set the pace for the rest of the exam, if you aren't finishing Q15 in 15-20 minutes, you're in trouble, because those questions tend to be easier than the rest.

How rushed do you feel as you're reading RC and doing LG that you do get to?

incompetentia

Postby incompetentia » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:04 pm

For LG/RC, the timing issue comes down to reading/diagramming balance. How much time do you spend setting up your diagram and making inferences? How much time do you spend reading the passage on your first go?