Argument question

kovacs

Argument question

Postby kovacs » Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:41 pm

Hi guys,

This is my first posting so I'm saying hello! I'm studying for the upcoming LSATs and would like some help on an argument question found on the 2011 Princeton Review LSAT study book.

The question:

A study was conducted to determine what impact, if any, last year's aggressive shark-fishing campaign had on the local seal population. Since the campaign began, the seal population has increased by 25 percent. Thus, the removal of large numbers of sharks from the ecosystem allowed the population of seals to increase.

Which of the following, if true, most seriously weakens the argument?

(A) A previously unidentified virus was responsible for the deaths of a large number of sharks in the same area in the last year.
(B) Sharks prey on many species of fish as well as seals.
(C) Excess bait used to lure the sharks provided the seals with a plentiful source of nutrition.
(D) The shark-fishing campaign included many different shark species.
(E) Reducing the shark population has a number of negative side effects on the ecosystem as a whole.

Answer choices B, D, and E are obviously incorrect. But, between A and C, it seems to me like it's a toss up. The correct answer is (C), but why? The Princeton Review states that it is a better answer because (A) addresses the premise, whereas (C) addresses the conclusion. However, I beg to differ. Doesn't (A), the virus that kills a large number of sharks, imply less feasting on seals, so there are relatively a greater number of seals than years past? In other words, the answer should address the INCREASE in seals. Is it because (A) the death of sharks does not necessarily mean an increase in sharks, but just less killing? IF the increase in seals is relative to last year, then how can (A) be a relatively worse answer than (C)?

delusional

Re: Argument question

Postby delusional » Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:47 pm

kovacs wrote:Hi guys,