June or Postpone

lilasiaboi

June or Postpone

Postby lilasiaboi » Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Here's my current situation. I'm currently registered for the June test date. I started studying 3 weeks ago, averaging 40 hours per week and taking 2 PTs a day. I scored a 161 on my first PT, but my scores have steadily increased. I've taken 14 PTs so far, and on my 6 most recent PTs, I've scored a 169, 166, 171, 163 (I completely messed up on one of the RC passages), 173, 170. (Note: the 6 most recent PTs that I took were PT50-55, which should be pretty recent, right?)

I have no problems with LG, for I usually get -0 or -2 at most. (However, I always barely finish the LG section) On LR, I usually get -1 to -3 each section, with ample time remaining. My main problem is the RC section, where I usually get -4 to -6. I spend around 3-4 minutes reading each passage, and around 5-6 minutes answering the questions. This usually leaves me only 5-6 minutes to finish the last passage, which is not good.

I want to try for T14 when I apply for law school in Fall, but I don't know if I will perform well enough on the June test. Should I postpone and try for the October test date or should I take a shot at the June test if I am aiming for T14? (current GPA is 3.90 at a top 20 undergraduate school and I will have 2 very good recs) If I take my chances with the June test, what's the best prep I can do in these last few days?

rcatmullnv

Re: June or Postpone

Postby rcatmullnv » Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:46 pm

As far as I understand, RC has only gotten harder with the more recent tests (although I don't know the test number when the switch occured). If it was after #55, I'd probably suggest holding off. If RC is your weakest, and you're only going to encounter tougher questions, you might be putting yourself in a tough situation.

lilasiaboi

Postby lilasiaboi » Thu Jun 02, 2011 10:50 am