June VS October LSAT

rcatmullnv

June VS October LSAT

Postby rcatmullnv » Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:57 am

Firstly, I'm extremely bummed I only just discovered these forums. I wish I would've discovered you guys a couple of months ago!

I'm currently registered for the June LSAT. My diagnostic was a 158. I only started seriously studying about 1.5 months ago (bad, I know). I went up to a 165 after reviewing all of the bibles, and then inexplicably started consistently scoring around 157 again. I went back to the books and reviewed them. Since then, my previous 2 practice tests have been a 162 and 163. My ideal school is University of Utah (top 40, where I want to live, etc.) which looks for an LSAT in the 158-160s range. I'm right where I need to be. Side note: considering all other things, I graduated from the University of Las Vegas with Summa Cum Laude and University Honors. Further, I have a Judge's and Dean's recommendation which should all help my application.

Scholarships is really my major concern. I imagine if I scored 170+, I could lock myself in for some nice scholarships. My scores right now, if I can pull them off for the actual test, should get me in to University of Utah no problem. In the past couple of days, I'm starting to really understand the patterns of the tests and how to execute the right strategies. If I had another 3-4 weeks, I think I could increase my score several points. Additionally, if I scored 170+, I'd definitely look into applying to some higher ranked schools.

Should I back out of the June LSAT, study more, and take the October LSAT? My major hang-ups with this approach is 1) early registration and 2) parental forces hammering on me to get it done now. If I don't get my ideal score this time (let's say I scored a 160), I could always take it again in October. However, as far as I understand it, taking the LSAT twice is generally unadvised.