Private Tutoring

ali6

Private Tutoring

Postby ali6 » Wed May 18, 2011 3:16 pm

Hi Guys,

I took the Lsat about a year and half ago and did horrible. I've tried Kaplan classes and, a few of test masters classes and by time the 6/7th class I'm just lost and start to lose hope. I think private tutoring might be the best route for me. Can anyone make any suggestions on their own experience from NYC? Answer from actually students not tutors trying to earn a quick buck. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by ali6 on Wed May 18, 2011 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kaiser

Re: Private Tutoring

Postby kaiser » Wed May 18, 2011 3:24 pm

I am a tutor, but I'm not trying to sell you on it. Just sharing my thoughts from the students' perspective. Many students feel lost in a sea of students when they take the prep classes. It moves at one set pace, and doesn't cater to you as an individual. The best aspects of private tutoring are that you are the center of attention, you can move at your own pace, and the tutor can adapt his style to the way in which you will be most receptive.

That raises an important point: Make sure you find a private tutor who doesn't try and teach the LSAT in a one size fits all format. It needs to adapt to meet your learning style, pace, ability, etc. This is crucial because, if you end up with a tutor who can only teach things one way, it can be just as useless as a large class in which you are merely a passenger, and not a co-pilot.