June 2011 LSAT--one month to prep: suggestions?

June 2011 LSAT--one month to prep: suggestions?

Postby mmk33 » Wed May 11, 2011 12:53 am

Hi all,

I'm taking the test June 6th. I've been a successful test taker all of my life up until this point (SAT, GRE, etc.), and now at the age of 31 I'm having some trouble with the LSAT. I've taken three practice tests and scored 162, 166, 160. I'm looking to get my score into the 168-172 range for the test (1st choice for law school is Duke) and I'm hoping that's possible. I have a 3.74 gpa undergrad and I completed a Phd in English Literature before this. It has been some time since I've taken an actual standardized test, and sometimes I feel like I'm banging my head against a wall. I would appreciate any suggestions on the best preparation techniques. Right now this is what I'm doing:

-I purchased 30 prior LSAT exams from LSAC. I have taken three of them and plan to do one a day (the remaining 27) between now and test day.
-I purchased the Powerscore Games Bible and the Logical Reasoning Bible. I'm almost done with the Games Bible, and am going to start and read the LR Bible closely (a little bit every day) starting Thursday (5/12/11).
-I've created an excel spreadsheet to track my LSAT PT results and keep records of where I'm losing points. So far my biggest weaknesses are timing (the time I scored 166 two of the four sections I had to guess on the last four or five questions because I ran out of time, and got every single one wrong) and the games. The last PT I took I had -10 on the games section which obviously killed my score. My strength is RC (-0, -3, -4). My LR has been uneven (all the way from -2 to -7) and I need to get that more consistent.