Need encouragement - or reality check. I'm at 162, any hope

sammacd25

Need encouragement - or reality check. I'm at 162, any hope

Postby sammacd25 » Thu May 05, 2011 11:17 am

I started studying in earnest in January. My diagnostic was 154. I took a Kaplan class and have read all of the bibles. I'm still having a problem with time and make stupid mistakes, usually ending up with around a 162. I have the time to study for the June exam - any stories or hope?

TyrodTaylor

Re: Need encouragement - or reality check. I'm at 162, any hope

Postby TyrodTaylor » Thu May 05, 2011 11:23 am

Diagnostic 155, studied for 4 months, hovered at 163...167 on test day. I have another friend who jumped 4 pts on test day too.

cinephile

Postby cinephile » Thu May 05, 2011 11:30 am

TyrodTaylor wrote:Diagnostic 155, studied for 4 months, hovered at 163...167 on test day. I have another friend who jumped 4 pts on test day too.

Are you me?

And yes, it's surprising how you can outperform your PT average on test day.

SemperLegal

Postby SemperLegal » Thu May 05, 2011 11:31 am

Same story as OP, 169 on test day. Keep doing those practice tests.

Straw_Mandible

Postby Straw_Mandible » Thu May 05, 2011 11:39 am

cinephile wrote:And yes, it's surprising how you can outperform your PT average on test day.

Keep in mind that you could just as easily under-perform on test day due to anxiety, poor testing conditions, etc. (Although this is pure speculation, I suspect that this occurs more frequently than the reverse.)