Getting a Headstart?

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
pontificator

New

Getting a Headstart?

Postby pontificator » Tue May 03, 2011 1:23 pm

I am aware that this topic has been discussed in bits and pieces many times before, but I'm asking because I could use some more thorough guidance. I'm sure there are others in my position as well.

Background:
I am finishing my second year of UG with a solid GPA from a good school and strong softs. I'm positive I want to go to LS.
My major is very demanding and I will be busy both of the remaining summers I have left as an undergrad, meaning I won't be able to devote myself to studying as if it were a full time job (which would obviously be ideal).
I'm not opposed to the idea of taking a year off after I graduate, but I would be hesitant to do it just for the sake of the LSAT.
Last semester I took a free timed practice test offered by Kaplan (without ever having seen/done an LSAT question), and got a 153. Timing was definitely the biggest issue for me on that test, and specifically the logic games wrecked me.
Needless to say, I want to significantly improve that score (20+ points?). I'm confident I can make big gains with practice, and I want to seriously commit myself to that cause.

At the soonest, I will be taking the test about a year from now (June 2012), but I may wait as long as two years (most likely, it will end up being somewhere in the middle, like October 2012). I am thinking about starting to study this summer (in a relatively leisurely manner). I would pretty much stop in the fall so that I could focus on school, then resume again over winter break and again when the time comes to take the test. Basically my intention is just to get a jump for when I finally begin to intensely study in the period immediately preceding the actual test. In my mind I see this as making the whole process less insane, and since I kind of find it fun anyway, I want to start.

So here are my questions: