Not sure how to approach studying

it'sjustme

Not sure how to approach studying

Postby it'sjustme » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:43 pm

Okay, so here's the story - I took the LSAT in February, and didn't score well at all on it (150). I felt I studied in a way that hindered me more than it helped, with a focus on the time, without really knowing how to approach the questions. I did a good number of practice tests in the months leading up to this exam, and obviously this approach didn't work for me.

After a few months of disappointment, I am ready to begin studying again for the October LSAT. However, I am not sure how. My weakest section - and the one I feel more uncomfortable with - is the logic games section. I have purchased the Powerscore Bible for it, and I also own multiple practice tests.

Like the title states, I am not sure how to approach studying for it this time - I have done several practice tests, but never really grasped the logic games. I was not outstanding on the other sections (obviously), but I am not sure what books to purchase for work on the other sections - based on some less than exemplary reviews I have come across.

With this post, I am just looking for some advice in terms of preparation, purchasing additional testing materials, or just general thoughts that would help with significant improvement.

Thank you for reading!

AntipodeanPhil

Re: Not sure how to approach studying

Postby AntipodeanPhil » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:48 pm

What you should be doing for logic games depends on what the problem is. Three possibilities:

A) That you don't know how to diagram the games.
B) That you can't get from the diagrams to the answers.
C) That it takes you too long to get the answers.

Also, although it doesn't get many positive reviews here, I thought the Examkrackers LG book was good - as a supplement to Powerscore.

it'sjustme

Postby it'sjustme » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:58 pm