people who scored 170+ while working full-time

sangr

people who scored 170+ while working full-time

Postby sangr » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:41 pm

Hey guys
this is for anyone who studied the lsat while having another obligation (school,work, family, etc)
yet was able to get a 170+

what was your regime like? my previous scores consist of 165 and 168, so its not like im not used to the LSAT either.

if anyone could give their own personal experiences.

thanks

mr_toad

Re: people who scored 170+ while working full-time

Postby mr_toad » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:45 pm

I work in education (tons of essay grading, etc.) and freelance, total workload of about 50-65 hours a week including weekends.

PTs Saturday and Sunday morning (yes, both mornings), starting at 9am, properly timed, etc.
Review during the week. Usually one PT section each weeknight mixed with reading and reviewing from various Powerscore/Atlas books. I'd say I spent much more time PT-ing than 'studying', although I did study pretty hard for the games (to my mind).

The above was pretty consistent for about two months before my first and second tests; third test I took on a whim (signed up three weeks before and only studied/practiced for those three weeks) and canceled after making a stupid mistake and not catching it.

SMA22

Postby SMA22 » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:00 pm

I broke the 170s while working FT and keeping up with a significant amount of extracurricular responsibilities; balance and regularity were a huge part of it. I would spend my lunch hour doing one 35 minute section and then going over my wrong answers, and then I'd study an additional hour and a half in the evening, doing usually two sections and then going over my mistakes. On the way to/from work on the bus, I did logic games. I did 1-2 timed tests on the weekends. I went from the high 150s to the 170s this way after two months. It wasn't a huge commitment (basically, I'd turn off the TV after work for a show and a half), but it definitely helped.