PT 12 - Sec 1 - #22

seaghost527

PT 12 - Sec 1 - #22

Postby seaghost527 » Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:01 pm

Question about Wilson's Dep. Store (I don't think I'm allowed to post it here).

I'm just beginning to (re-)study LSAT stuff for the June test, and am gonna follow Pithypike's guide pretty closely. I'm only on day 3 of my studying and so far I've reviewed Assumption Qs in the LRB (which I found only marginally helpful) and just finished completing the first 30 Assumption Qs in the Big Orange Book (while timing myself -- took me 34-35 mins to complete these 30 Qs).

I got 2 wrong in this section, but the one I particularly don't understand is from PT 12, Sec. 1, #22. I've read the explanation in the back of the book and even Googled the question but none of the explanations I've read have helped me. Can anyone clarify for me?

For example, the answer says that the criterion for giving awards has remained the same (top 1/3), and the premises state that the # of award winners, in addition to the number of losers, have both decreased over the last decade & a half.

But why can't this be true:

Today:
Top 1/3 = 10 people (win)
Middle 1/3 = 10 people (lose)
Bottom 1/3 = 10 people (lose) (20 people total lose)

Fifteen Years Ago: Say, the criteria to win an award was being in the top half, not the top third, of the salesmen (this would contradict the correct answer). For example:
Top 1/2 = 50 people (win)
Bottom 1/2 = 50 people (lose)

In this situation, the criteria for distributing awards changed, but the premises still hold, that both the number of winners declined (from 50 to 10), and the number of those "passed over" declined as well (from 50 to 20).

I try to think in my head of what the correct answer will be before I read the choices, and I was looking for an answer that said "the total number of salespeople declined", but it wasn't there.

Can anyone let me know where I've gone wrong! / Why the correct answer is (C) ? Thanks!

Manhattan LSAT Noah