Anyone tutor for the Princeton Review? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
asoularisen

New

Anyone tutor for the Princeton Review?

Post by asoularisen » Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:13 am

I start training as an LSAT tutor Feb. 19th and was curious as to people's experience with this particular job; what you think of the training/work/materials/students etc.

I am also curious as to if being 19 will be a detriment as a tutor, since most students will be older than me.

tomwatts

Gold

Re: Anyone tutor for the Princeton Review?

Post by tomwatts » Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:51 am

Is this one of those "You're an SAT teacher already, so we'll train you for the LSAT and then pay for you to take the real thing under the assumption that you'll break a 170" deals, or have you already gotten a real score?

Either way, I've been teaching for TPR for 7 years, and I like it a lot. Prep for your first class is kind of insane, but it gets much easier if you make good notes for yourself to follow. The training is quite intense, and there's no guarantee that you will pass, even if you already teach some other subject first, so get in touch with your trainer early and see if you can do some advance prep (say, watching the recorded lessons). The students are quite a range; in almost all of my classes, I've had mostly people at or just past the end of college, but there's always been one person who's 40+. Their scores are also all over the map, from the 130's to the 160's to start out.

Let me know if you have any more specific questions.

EarlCat

Silver

Post by EarlCat » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:46 pm