Have any LSAT writers taken the GMAT as well?

lsat_doobie

Have any LSAT writers taken the GMAT as well?

Postby lsat_doobie » Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:03 pm

I'm considering applying to an mba program in addition to law schools. However, the program I'm applying to requests a GMAT score by January 31st, so if I were to apply I would have to write the GMAT during this month. I was wondering if anybody had any experience about the GMAT and its difficulty. Can someone learn this test and do well within a one month period? I haven't taken any math since high school, but I'm a strong writer and I've done reasonably well on the LSAT (165). Anyone have any advice on some affordable prep books I could quickly get through?

Re: Have any LSAT writers taken the GMAT as well?

Postby 2014 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:53 pm

There's a free prep test that you can download somewhere on the gmat page (MBA.com?). I would take it and see how you do and go from there.

Shooter

Postby Shooter » Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:57 pm

lsat_doobie wrote:I'm considering applying to an mba program in addition to law schools. However, the program I'm applying to requests a GMAT score by January 31st, so if I were to apply I would have to write the GMAT during this month. I was wondering if anybody had any experience about the GMAT and its difficulty. Can someone learn this test and do well within a one month period? I haven't taken any math since high school, but I'm a strong writer and I've done reasonably well on the LSAT (165). Anyone have any advice on some affordable prep books I could quickly get through?

I've prepped for both, and GMAT is definitely easier.

I know a person who took the LSAT and was denied admittance at UF Law. That same person nearly aced the GMAT (740) and now attends Wharton.

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:10 pm

Your friend could have applied to Northwestern's combined MBA/JD program which only requires a GMAT score & an application to the business school.