advice for retaking the LSAT

SkiPow88

advice for retaking the LSAT

Postby SkiPow88 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:24 pm

Looking for some advice regarding retaking the LSAT. I had been studying fairly consistently for about 4 months prior to the December test. I was continually scoring from 159-164. On test day I got killed with a 155.
I am determined to beat this test. A 155 just isn't going to cut it for me. I am working full time, but have plenty of time to study. Was wondering what people think about taking the Feb. test? I have five good weeks to study. If not I'm content with re-taking my class and studying for June.

Is February too soon? Is retaking a Powerscore class too much? Or would you advise not taking the test 3 times? Any advice/expertise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

DarkPhantom

Re: advice for retaking the LSAT

Postby DarkPhantom » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:22 pm

I don't know how much time you're going to be dedicating, but I have quit work and all other endeavors and risking it all for the FEB LSAT. I just restarted because I was discouraged earlier, but feeling optimistic and seeing as my practice LSATs have been in 158-160 range, I think I can hopefully get into the 160s by Feb 12 - hoping to land my actual score into the upper 150s if not 160s range :)

I would register for the Feb LSAT if and only if you can dedicate all your time.

hypothalamus

Postby hypothalamus » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:09 pm

I think you'll be fine for February, if you really try.

Some things to think about include: doing whole sections and even better whole tests in one sitting; practicing early in the morning (that was a huge issue for me on test day); timing yourself very strictly (try doing 33 minute sections); getting enough rest and not stressing out too much the week before the test.