Should I even try? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
easteur

New

Should I even try?

Post by easteur » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:46 pm

Hi everyone,
I just wanted to get some advice from people that know more about law schools than I do.
I just got back my December score - 158 and I am devastated.
I have a 4.0 GPA, work for a Big 4 public accounting firm. I am currently a senior but I am up for a manager in half a year (took me 4 years, while usually takes from 5 to 7 years for an average person). I am a CPA (crushed all 4 parts with very high scores). So I never thought of myself as a stupid and uncapable person (not super smart, but not stupid either).
I decided I wouldn't go to law school, unless I get in some top schools. But now with that score, is that even worth it to retake?
Thanks

glitter178

Silver

Re: Should I even try?

Post by glitter178 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:47 pm

easteur wrote:Hi everyone,
I just wanted to get some advice from people that know more about law schools than I do.
I have a 4.0 GPA, work for a Big 4 public accounting firm. I am currently a senior but I am up for a manager in half a year (took me 4 years, while usually takes from 5 to 7 years for an average person). I am a CPA (crushed all 4 parts with very high scores). So I never thought of myself as a stupid and uncapable person (not super smart, but not stupid either).
I decided I wouldn't go to law school, unless I get in some top schools. But now with that score, is that even worth it to retake?
Thanks
i got a 158 and retook it and got a 168. i am very pro-retaking.

Ragged

Silver

Post by Ragged » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:48 pm

It's worth a retake. But a better question is, is it worth for you to give up a great career in accounting for illusive dreams of making biglaw?

I think that score was God telling you to stick to what you are doing.

NYCLSATTutor

Bronze

Post by NYCLSATTutor » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:50 pm

Thanks