When should one stop studying?

guinness

When should one stop studying?

Postby guinness » Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:20 pm

I'm doing my absolute best right now. I've got a handle on most types of LG and am scoring around -2/3 on LR and -2 on RC. I am studying 2-3 hours on weekday nights, and about 7 one weekend days. I'm bringing it hard and somehow am not burning out.

My question is, how long should before the Dec 11 test should I say "STOP" and put away all my LSAT materials? I assume I will perform a bit better with a few days of mental rest prior to the exam, but I don't want to test that now (since I'm getting better each day).

Thoughts?

Kabuo

Re: When should one stop studying?

Postby Kabuo » Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:27 pm

I was studying slightly less than you for the Oct exam and I decided to take it waaaay back 1 week before the exam. The saturday before the exam I took PT 58 and got my lowest PT score ever (163). I took that as a sign of burnout, stayed away from all things LSAT until the Thursday before the exam. Got my first PT 180 on that one (PT 59), and took it as a sign that the break was just what I needed.

I hated it at the time. I couldn't stop dreaming about LSAT things. I just had to make myself not look at any books, and after the break, I had all the confidence in the world. It didn't all carry over to the real thing (mini meltdown on the last LG), but it worked out at my PT average. So, I guess what I'm saying is, I think it's a good idea to at the very least bring the intensity way down for the last week, if not all the way down. It doesn't hurt as much as it seems like it would, and anecdotally at least, it seems to have helped the majority of TLSers.

almostthereee

Postby almostthereee » Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:33 pm

Wow you're quite lucky not to be feeling the burnout. I'm retaking this time around and feel the burnout is more prevalent but at the same time I feel I can control it better this time.