Does LSAT come down to luck?

gambelda

Does LSAT come down to luck?

Postby gambelda » Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:18 am

I've been studying for 4 months. Cannot consistently get past the 166 mark. Been stuck at it for 2 months. Usually -3 to -4 in LR and anywhere from -4 to -8 in RC. -0 in LG consistently.

Hit 171 on preptest 47 with absolutely no idea how.

Is it fair to just say at some point it's going to come down to luck? I've acknowledged I'm an extremely slow reader and at a disadvantage because of it....but zero improvement in 2 months is insane. 3 weeks to December 11 and I'm just kind of throwing my hands in the air.

kkklick

Re: Does LSAT come down to luck?

Postby kkklick » Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:26 am

PT 47 is easier than most. When you do enough practice tests you are going to have outlier scores. In terms of luck, there is a little bit of luck involved, for example if you're really good at certain types of logic games and those show up on the test. Or getting RC passages where you already have a familiarity with the topic. Other than that, no there is no "luck" on the LSAT.

gambelda

Postby gambelda » Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:29 am

If pt47 is easier, why is the curve still -9? I mean I know a -9 indicates easier, but its only indicating 1-2 points easier than most and I jumped 6?

I've thrown law school out of my mind for good, I just want to kill this Fing test and I'm getting nowhere fast. Is that crazy, that I probably won't go to law school but still want to destroy its entrance exam? Damn this thing for ruining my last 4 months.

kkklick

Postby kkklick » Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:36 am

Don't be so overdramatic, you're scoring 166 which is pretty good, I took PT 47 a couple months ago and I scored more than a few points higher than my average, some tests are just easier than others even with a harsher curve. Just take that test and let it add to your confidence.

gambelda

Postby gambelda » Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:41 am