Is it worth it to take the test again?

tiggaplease

Is it worth it to take the test again?

Postby tiggaplease » Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:27 pm

Took it in October, got a 161 (GPA 3.34). It was pretty consistent with my scores in practice, though I did score a few 163-165s, which is what I wanted. So I'm leaning toward just going with what I've got and making the best of it.

I'm not rich, and neither are my parents. I studied on my own. I haven't crammed since October, though I suppose I could...

Is it worth it to take the test again for a possible extra few points?

JazzOne

Re: Is it worth it to take the test again?

Postby JazzOne » Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:29 pm

tiggaplease wrote:Took it in October, got a 161 (GPA 3.34). It was pretty consistent with my scores in practice, though I did score a few 163-165s, which is what I wanted. So I'm leaning toward just going with what I've got and making the best of it.

I'm not rich, and neither are my parents. I studied on my own. I haven't crammed since October, though I suppose I could...

Is it worth it to take the test again for a possible extra few points?

With your GPA, I think it's almost mandatory to retake. What are your goals?

tiggaplease

Postby tiggaplease » Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:27 pm

Well, I want to get into the best schools I can, being realistic with my stats. I'm applying ED to UC Hastings, and would be pumped if I got in.

I'm honestly not 100% sure on what type of law, maybe constitutional. My interests lie most in politics and government.

Why do you think a retake is almost mandatory?

niederbomb

Postby niederbomb » Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:33 pm

As far as I know, the only non-T14 law schools that continue to place well are in Texas, namely, SMU and the University of Houston since Texas created 50% of the jobs created in the U.S. this year. Anywhere else, you'd better stick with the T14 or at least the T20.