First "Diag(?)" Test?

Korey

First "Diag(?)" Test?

Postby Korey » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:58 pm

Hello TLSers,

I am a little confused as to what I think is being referred to as ones first Diag test.

Am I supposed to take this PRIOR to reading/studying anything? Or is this the first practice test you take after reading some strategies/books for the LSAT.
I ask because it seems like picking up an LSAT practice test and taking it without knowing really what to expect would be rather rather discouraging when I see the final score. :lol:

Also, when is "too early" to start studying for the LSAT. I will probably be told the typical "go drink a beer and relax" comments, but I am a sophomore in UG and I am trying to do EVERYTHING possible to maximize my score. But I am assuming there is a point which would be "too early" to start studying because one will run out of practice tests. Is this correct?

*apologize in advance if these are repeat questions, I could not find them in search.

Korey

albusdumbledore

Re: First "Diag(?)" Test?

Postby albusdumbledore » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:59 pm

I remember when I had my first beer.

incompetentia

Postby incompetentia » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:03 pm

If you're studying more than six months ahead of the test, you're probably going to scare yourself into a lower score. If you want to read outside material (people always recommend The Economist around heres), that should help prepare you somewhat for RC (and somewhat even less for LR). However, specific prep materials are unnecessary until you're about (in my opinion) 4 months out.

Diagnostic generally refers to your first test, although a 'cold' diagnostic is one where you haven't looked at any material yet.
Example: "My cold diag was at 148, but I studied for 3 months and managed to score a 169 on the test."