Question about deduction of reciprocal rule

logicgamesbrah
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:21 pm

Question about deduction of reciprocal rule

Postby logicgamesbrah » Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:05 pm

In LG when you get a rule that allows you to reverse the rule without negating and it's still true what is the deduction you get from this rule?

For example in a game where you have 5 entities and four spots to place them.

If no A -> B second, contraposed as
If B not second -> A

If B second -> not A, contraposed as
If A -> B not second

What deduction can be made from this rule?

User avatar
KevinP
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:56 pm

Re: Question about deduction of reciprocal rule

Postby KevinP » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:22 am

logicgamesbrah wrote:In LG when you get a rule that allows you to reverse the rule without negating and it's still true what is the deduction you get from this rule?

For example in a game where you have 5 entities and four spots to place them.

If no A -> B second, contraposed as
If B not second -> A

If B second -> not A, contraposed as
If A -> B not second

What deduction can be made from this rule?


If I understand this correctly, you have the following rules
not A -> B2
B2 -> not A

There is no point to taking the contrapositive (unless it helps w/ finding the bidirectional) as it can be written as a bidirectional.
not A <--> B2
and the only time this can be true is under the following 2 conditions:
B is second and A is not included (since this is out of 5, the other 4 have to be included)
B is not second and A is included.

I hope that helps, let me know if I can be of any further help.




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest