30 Minute Sections?

epark84

30 Minute Sections?

Postby epark84 » Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:46 pm

I have been studying for a few months now and have a good grasp of the concepts (scoring mid to high 160s on PTs). I have read on this forum that once you have pretty good accuracy, it's good to start trimming sections to 30-34 minutes. To people that subscribe to this method, how is this helpful? Do you do this with new exams that you have yet to do? I am debating if I should begin cutting my section time down while working on PTs, or continue to work through them with 35 mins. Isn't it important to have an accurate assessment of my ability, working through sections with the actual 35min time?

cowgirl_bebop

Re: 30 Minute Sections?

Postby cowgirl_bebop » Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:22 pm

epark84 wrote:I have been studying for a few months now and have a good grasp of the concepts (scoring mid to high 160s on PTs). I have read on this forum that once you have pretty good accuracy, it's good to start trimming sections to 30-34 minutes. To people that subscribe to this method, how is this helpful? Do you do this with new exams that you have yet to do? I am debating if I should begin cutting my section time down while working on PTs, or continue to work through them with 35 mins. Isn't it important to have an accurate assessment of my ability, working through sections with the actual 35min time?

I only did something like this with games. I ALWAYS ran over, and sometimes would never get to the last game, so I practiced "5 minute emergencies". My accuracy was great, but my timing was SLOW. So I practiced doing each game in 5 minutes to force myself to move faster. My internal clock sped up, and I was able to tackle all four games (well, mostly) on the real thing. I thought it was really helpful. If I had not have done that I would have had to skip an entire game on the LSAT last Saturday, and that would have been DISASTROUS.