How bad is it to take LSAT a third time?

blah...

How bad is it to take LSAT a third time?

Postby blah... » Tue Oct 12, 2010 11:33 am

Just wondering in case I dont get the score I want. I have a pretty low GPA and am really shooting for a 170, so I can ED places and actually have a shot. Im also only looking at top 50 schools, cus really lets face it, the job market isnt that great. If I didnt score the 170 this past Saturday, would it be bad to take another year off and try again in June (3rd time)? I graduated in May btw. Any advice would help :)

blah...

Re: How bad is it to take LSAT a third time?

Postby blah... » Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:09 pm

bumpady bump bump bump

kkklick

Postby kkklick » Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:14 pm

I graduated in May as well, wrote the June lsat for a 160 and again in October. If I get less than 164 I will write in December because the curve is so much nicer ann you will be one of only a few who wont have final exams around the date of the test.

So is it bad to take a third time, I don't know how it is in the U.S, but in Canada they take your highest. Any more than 3 and your finished though. If you write a 3rd time, make sure you nail it.

bk1

Postby bk1 » Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:15 pm

I'd rather apply with a 120/120/170 than a 160, hope that clears it up for you.

Also, T50 is a meaningless distinction. Many schools in the T1 aren't any better than schools below them and have crappy prospects.

Definitely take a year off and retake for 170+.

EDIT: It's also not necessary to bump after 30 minutes...

Charmander

Postby Charmander » Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:20 pm

bk1 wrote:I'd rather apply with a 120/120/170 than a 160, hope that clears it up for you.

Also, T50 is a meaningless distinction. Many schools in the T1 aren't any better than schools below them and have crappy prospects.

I agree with the above poster on everything. Including the bump. :P

niederbomb

Postby niederbomb » Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:21 pm