Please help! Anxiety attack during Oct. 2010 test!

tisha_beth

Please help! Anxiety attack during Oct. 2010 test!

Postby tisha_beth » Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:12 pm

Hi guys, this is my first time on here. I just took the test Saturday with pretty much disastrous results. :( I had the most horrible test anxiety I have ever experienced in my life.

To prepare for the test, I studied for a solid year. I took least 20 timed preptests. I read and worked through my PowerScore "Bible" books not once, but two to four times apiece. I was consistently scoring 165 - 170 in practice sessions.

Saturday, my whole world crashed in. When the proctor handed out the test booklets, I started to freak out because I couldn't believe I was actually doing it. During the entire first section (RC), my mind drew a total blank. I wasn't able to focus on a single sentence, let alone the entire passage. I found myself mindlessly filling in bubbles. My mind was racing with thoughts of failure that I could not control. On top of that, I was trembling. I felt like walking out, but I managed to get ahold of myself by the beginning of the second section.

I realize now that I have built this thing up to immense proportions in my head. I've got to tear this monster down. I just need to know what you guys think would help, and if anyone else is in the same situation. I am willing to try anything, yet the usual tips (deep breathing, plenty of sleep, fluids, etc.) seem like giving someone with cancer an aspirin.

My college GPA is 3.95 with a double major. Yet I am so fearful that this LSAT score will prevent me from getting into a top law school. This fear leads to anxiety, of course, and it's a vicious cycle with both feeding off each other.

Thanks for your help!

cowgirl_bebop

Re: Please help! Anxiety attack during Oct. 2010 test!

Postby cowgirl_bebop » Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:16 pm