Score stagnating - any tips?

pineappledazzler

Score stagnating - any tips?

Postby pineappledazzler » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:49 pm

My LSAT score seems to be stagnating - diagnostic 163, improved to a consistent 168-170. I have been studying for just under 2 months, and am taking the December test with an ideal goal score of 175+. I went up consistently until about 2.5 weeks ago, and since then the PTs I've taken have stayed within the range mentioned above. LG and RC have proven pretty consistent with specific areas to target for improvement, but LR is where I could gain the most. Any tips for getting out of the slump and getting to where I should be?

Re: Score stagnating - any tips?

Postby 09042014 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:52 pm

Try to find a pattern of what you get wrong. I was constantly either getting parallel reasoning wrong, or wasting a lot of time with it, and I focused on it for an afternoon, and I never got one wrong again.

typ3

Postby typ3 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:00 pm

Is LG consistently 0? If not there is more you can do to raise your score.

I agree with Desert, find what type of problems you are missing and fix that problem type.

Re-read the bibles. If you're missing any in RC then you can certainly improve. Redo old passages that you missed a question on. Read some overly wordy and dense material to improve your reading ability.

Jeffort

Postby Jeffort » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:04 pm

ok, your practice range is excellent. To be getting 170's or close to it you cannot be missing that many questions, especially if you have been taking recent PT's timed.

You said LR is your main problem. How many LR problems are you typically missing? It cannot be more than 10 total unless you are getting near perfect scores in the LG and RC sections.