son of a b

rumky

son of a b

Postby rumky » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:01 pm

Okay, so I could really use some advice right now. I've been studying for the LSAT on and off for the past four months and consistently since late August. For the past ~10 PTs I've scored between 171-177 (172 average), and typically missing -2 LR/-5RC/-0LG. This was on random tests from 39-55. Yesterday I took PT 58 and scored 167 (-4LR/-9RC/-4LG.) I thought it was a fluke. Then today I got all pumped up to do well and took PT 52. Well, I missed -18 total. I was so depressed that I didn't even bother looking at the scaled score. I haven't missed that many questions--ever. So I'm basically panicing right now because I don't know why my score has dropped like this. I didn't feel like it was a particularly hard test, but I bombed all the sections.

I don't know what to do. I REALLY want to take the test on the 9th, but now I'm terrified that I could bomb it. Does anyone have advice on what the hell might be happening or what I should do at this point? Thanks.

bk1

Re: son of a b

Postby bk1 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:02 pm

Could be burnout. Plus you probably put extra pressure on yourself after getting the first bad PT.

rumky

Postby rumky » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:04 pm

Thanks. So do you think I should take time off? I'm afraid to this close to the end, but obviously if it is burnout I won't be doing myself any favors by plugging away.

bk1

Postby bk1 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:06 pm

rumky wrote:Thanks. So do you think I should take time off? I'm afraid to this close to the end, but obviously if it is burnout I won't be doing myself any favors by plugging away.

It really depends on the person but I would at least take a couple days off. It is most likely burnout and forcing PT's on yourself for the next couple of days would hurt you and be counterproductive.

Most people do take a few days off as the exam date gets closer, heck some people take the few days to week off before the test.

rumky